Food Time!

So I’m going to share what I did to make a psuedo-Tikka Masala I think it’s called. It’s a dish from India that features spices, curry and yogurt in the sauce.  It’s an incredibly delicious creamy dish.  That I can’t have anymore due to a intolerance of milk. And yes, both the lactose and the other thingy. Doesn’t matter the form its in.  Cheese, sour cream, yogurt…even if it’s some kind of baked good there is pain afterwards.

And while I might be a masochist (obviously since I blog), I like pain that is consensual…not “Oh you ate dairy I hate you I’m going to make you swell up to looking eight months pregnant” pain. Damn food allergies. *resets tangent right quick*

So here’s the following recipe for you, I hope you try it out and that you enjoy it.

Take a small sauce pan and put a thin layer of your preferred oil or cooking fat on the bottom. Very important.

Put about 1-2 tablespoons of lemon, lime OR a vinegar that you like.

Add gold(en?) curry powder.  You want about 1 tablespoon for every pound of rice or meat. If both, the tablespoon counts for the combined pounds of meat, do not count the rice.

Want it savory?  Use things like powdered ginger, cumin, a touch of sage and a bit of salt.

Spicy? I used cayenne, chili powder, cinnamon (yes, cinnamon. Just trust me on this one), red pepper flakes and garlic powder.  About 1-2 teaspoons of each, depending on how much curry you used. No more than 2 teaspoons of any one spicy. 

Add one cup of water to the pot and set on low heat. Take a whisk to the mixture and use that to get your spices to mix in properly.  Then… you are going to add approximately 1/3 cup of honey.  Now… I don’t know if sugar can be substituted because we don’t use sugar here in StormRose Casa.  (Paleo diet. Easiest way around my allergies.) You can leave the honey out if you don’t have any, but the mixture after it’s simmered for about ten minutes, won’t have the same glaze like properties.

After that, pour over your slab of meat (or tofu… mmmm tofu masala…..) and bake at about 350 degrees for around an hour to an hour and a half.  When I say any meat, I mean it. I’ve used this glaze on chicken, turkey, beef, pork and lamb leftovers from Yule. If you need to save, pour the mixture into a mason jar. Wipe off the mouth before you seal it up!!! Set in the fridge. Good for at least a week. (I don’t know about longer than that because it never lasts that long here in my kitchen.) Now, the oil or fat I told you to add earlier? That helps keep the honey that’s in the sauce from crystallizing in my experience. =)

Okay how does this get turned into Tikka Masala?

Simple.  Once you’re ready to make your masala, pour the sauce over your rice and meat and let them heat evenly. Then, spoon plain (not vanilla, not nothing. PLAIN.) yogurt over the food, stirring in frequently until you get the level of creamy that you like best in your Masala.

Voila!  Like I said, it’s a psuedo Tikka Masala. It’s almost paleo friendly. For those of you who would like to make paleo friendly, just leave out the honey and use veggies like cauliflower, tomatoes, cucumbers, spinach, etc. Yes, the sauce works as a salad dressing too. =)

FOR THE NOMS!

10 thoughts on “Food Time!

      1. You are most WC.
        I must say you have a very unique blog.
        Wish you a healthy, tasty and a Happy New Year.

Comments are closed.