When you can’t job

As I’m sure ya’ll can imagine working with the actual general population face to face… yeah no fuck that.  I hate doing it these days because I don’t like trying to fake personal interactions long enough to get you to buy (__________) or leave me a tip.  Waitress is a job I won’t do ever again.  Nor do I think that even I wanted to that I could anymore.  One grab from a drunk prick/bitch and for all I know, I’ll come out of a flashback and be in handcuffs because I broke  their nose.   (Not that they wouldn’t have deserved it.  Do stupid shit, pay painful consequences.)

As ya’ll know I crochet, knit and sew a lot. Which reminds me, I need to show ya’ll the Viking era outfit I made for an event with one of the house’s of the SCA. Rolling Thunder.  First big event that I’ve been able to go to since 2010 or 2011, but part of being able to do it was because I had Maggie with me.  Part of the deal of getting to go to Oklahoma is that I had to take her with me.

But those skills aren’t bringing in as much income as they used to and despite being a good seamstress, I can’t get shit straight at the moment so that I can start to make orders and this pisses me off.

And it really annoys me because Mike Rowe’s foundation is currently accepting scholarship applications….only I don’t know what I’d be good at.  I really wish I could have taken a shop class of some kind.  There wasn’t a lot of opportunities that I could jump on to try out carpentry or mechanical stuff.

I want to work one of the 50 odd fields that needs people. There’s three million and climbing jobs that are unfilled because they are hard dirty work. They don’t need a four year college degree.  They need trade school.

And me not knowing what I’d be good at.  I’ve looked for a school that has a course that lets you stick your hand in several of the trades.  No luck yet.  It’d be nice to go back to school to learn a new set of skills… I just don’t know which skill to get and it’s almost crippling in how uncertain I am right now over this.

One thought on “When you can’t job

  1. “And it really annoys me because Mike Rowe’s foundation is currently accepting scholarship applications….only I don’t know what I’d be good at. I really wish I could have taken a shop class of some kind. There wasn’t a lot of opportunities that I could jump on to try out carpentry or mechanical stuff.”

    Let Mike’s organization know about this, you’re definitely not the only one. They need a gatekeeper/aptitude check opportunity somewhere in the application chain, for folks like you.

Comments are closed.