Never Forget

The Liberty Zone

As you all know, I’m not particularly religious. OK, I’m pretty much an atheist. Not that I would reject the notion of a deity if actual scientific proof was presented, but I don’t do faith.

My parents are a bit different. They were never allowed to practice their religion in the USSR, so when they came to the United States, my dad, especially, absorbed all the faith. He wrote about it a while back in a Russian essay. I don’t remember where it was published – probably some Russian publication in Philly – but it was beautifully written. It was a heartfelt description of a journey from someone not allowed to worship anything but the all-powerful state to someone who genuinely took his God into his heart.

Me? It never took. I did go to synagogue as a kid (read: my parents dragged me there). I was bored out of…

View original post 1,064 more words

